Big Battlefield Bike Ride and other events....
 
The weather was drier today but still nice and cool – the sun shone through in the afternoon making very pleasant cycling conditions.

The route today followed the line of the Western Front through the Somme – the sheer number of Commonwealth graves on today’s ride was moving not least the scale of Thiepval where 1000’s upon 1000’s of names will live forever of men that were never found.

I found this morning hard, I will blame not enough breakfast and a few glasses of wine with dinner! The mornings ride was a little undulating but to my legs it felt like the Alps.  But the climb was worth it, the first stop of the day was at the Australian Memorial which looks out towards Amiens and the valley below. I didn’t stop for long, I knew I needed to get to some food and quick – the water stop couldn’t come soon enough and I had 2 cereal bars and a banana a felt much better!

From here the sun started to shine and I passed many more memorials and grave yards – I have to admit I didn’t stop as I just wanted a long rest and not miss the ceremony at Thiepval. I arrived just as lunch was being served so had a good hour before the ceremony started.

This was one of the most moving ones of the trip – on the 1st July 1916 60,000 British and Dominion soldiers lost their lives here. “Their names liveth forever more” on the monument.  The ceremony started with our piper leading us round to the site, here the pedalling Padre gave a moving service and 3 wreaths were laid. The Padre finished his address asking us to find someone with the same name as us on the walls, with a name like Wilson all I had to do was look up and there were 4 or 5 just in front of me.

The afternoons ride was better with we stopped at a few of the Commonwealth graves and had a relaxing afternoon.

My knee had been niggling and someone suggested I talk to a mechanic – what can a mechanic do about a knee? Drop my saddle an inch that’s what! And now it doesn’t hurt at all – apparently I had been stretching it too far with very pedal stroke – whoops!

Cruising towards Arras in plenty of time some of our fellow riders had found a little bar and it would have been rude not to have stopped at what became an unofficial water stop!

I arrive in Arras late afternoon to find that the DA staff had been battling with the local to keep the orange arrows in place. Tonight was in the Holiday Inn Express with no air con and a window that didn’t open. But after such a moving day – who cares? I live in a civilised world, will never have to fight in the trenches (I hope!) and have all my limbs intact.
12/16/2010 08:33:36 am

Stroke is an evil which we must start paying attention, is a disease that present many symptoms before it happens, check with the doctor is a good way to avoid this!

Reply
12/17/2010 03:13:12 am

Costa Rica is a country of beautiful landscapes, beaches and lush variety of plant and animal species. Visit


In Costa Rica will always find a variety of animals and plants that beautify our landscape. Come and see the beauty of our land

Reply
12/17/2010 03:16:41 am

The people of Costa Rica is warm in his dealings, kind and hardworking. Visit our country and will enjoy the natural beauty of the find


When you want to know a country full of beautiful natural landscapes come to Costa Rica, a place of beauty in every way, come and visit our land, you'll easily fall in love with Costa Rica

Reply



Leave a Reply.